[Dirvish] Dirvish/rsync thinking partition is 'new'

Dale Amon amon at vnl.com
Sun Mar 6 01:56:44 UTC 2011


On Sun, Mar 06, 2011 at 01:35:44AM +0100, Paul Slootman wrote:
> On Sat 05 Mar 2011, hanj wrote:
> 
> > I did this and here is a partial output of some of the files:
> > 
> > cd+++++++++ home/hanj/.audacious/.thumbs/
> > >f+++++++++ home/hanj/.audacious/.thumbs/Classic.png
> 
> > The files on the actual server:
> > 
> > drwxr-xr-x 2 hanj users  240 Apr  6  2007 .
> > -rw-r--r-- 1 hanj users 1515 Apr  6  2007 Classic.png
> 
> > Here is a view of the first image on the backup server in the same
> > directory:
> > 
> > drwxr-xr-x  2 back users  240 Apr  6  2007 .
> > -rw-r--r-- 28 back users 1515 Apr  6  2007 Default.png
> 
> The owner is (has become?) different. Hence dirvish needs to retransmit
> those files as the metadata is different.

But if the contents has not changed, the actual transmittal
should be nothing by a few bytes of directory data here
and there. In this case, I would expect (hope!) that the
update would run very fast. 

I do see this as a problem though... does he end up with
a (locally copied) version of the file instead of a hard 
link? Seems a bit on the assinine side to duplicate say, an
unchanged 100GB iso image, just because the user 'touch'd, 
chmod'ed or chown'ed it. Really a rather serious waste of
resources.


More information about the Dirvish mailing list